Composer Interviews


2019 APRA-AGSC Screen Music Awards Nominations Announced!

The nominees have been announced for the 2019 APRA Screen Music Awards! A warm congratulations to all nominees, especially to those for their first nominations!

The press release is below


It’s three times a charm for Bryony Marks, Caitlin Yeo, Antony Partos, Brett Aplin and David Bridie

Today we pay tribute to our leading lights of Australian screen music with the announcement of nominees for the 2019 SCREEN MUSIC AWARDS.

Representing 12 award categories are 39 composers, and 36 works which showcase the very best in Australian screen music for the past year. This diverse group highlight the depth of talent in the field of screen composition in Australia. We celebrate their achievements in music for documentaries, short films, children’s television, advertising, film and television soundtrack albums, as well as feature films.

Leading with three nominees a-piece are composers Bryony Marks, Caitlin Yeo, Antony Partos, Brett Aplin and David Bridie.

Showcasing the range of their offerings, Caitlin Yeo’s work has been nominated for Feature Film Score of the Year for Danger Close: The Battle of Long Tan, Best Television Theme for The Pacific: In the Wake of Captain Cook with Sam Neill and also the category of Best Music for an Advertisement. David Bridie also appears across three categories with unique works; Best Music for a Television Series or Serial for Secret City: Run Little Rabbit, Best Music for a Documentary for Australia’s Lost Impressionist, and Best Soundtrack Album for The Merger.

Bryony Marks is recognised twice for her work on Damon Gameau’s 2040 documentary and also in Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie for Lambs of God. Brett Aplin appears twice for his compositions forThe Bureau of Magical Thingsand alongside co-composers Burkhard Dallwitz and Dmitri Golovko in Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie for Ms Fisher’s Modern Murder Mysteries. Antony Partos appears twice for his work on the Stan original drama series Bloom (including a nod with Jackson Milas for Bloom: The Memory Box). Antony rounds out his nominations with co-writer Dan Luscombe in the Feature Film Score of the Year category with science fiction thriller film I Am Mother.

The 2019 roll-call also features first time nominees Piers Burbrook de Vere, Brontë Horder, Andrew Sampford, AJ True, Sophia Brous, Mirrah Foulkes, Rory Chenoweth and Luke Altmann who sit alongside established composers François Tétaz, Michael Yezerski, Amanda Brown, Cezary Skubiszewski, Matteo Zingales, Jed Kurzel, Nerida Tyson-Chew and Paul Kelly among others.

The nominated compositions appear in powerful screen productions such as The Final Quarter, original drama production Secret City, Australian crime thriller drama series Dead Lucky, six-part event drama Fighting Season, the three-part series documenting the rise and fall of Australia's most notorious cult, The Cult of the Family, ABC Television favourite You Can’t Ask That and feature films Judy and Punch and Jirga.

An independent panel of highly respected Australian film and television composers and industry practitioners have decided the nominees across 10 of the award categories. Nominees for Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia and Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas have been determined by analysis of performance activity.

The Awards will be held on Wednesday 20 November at the Forum Melbourne. It is the only Australian event where the music and screen industry gather to celebrate the behind-the-scenes heroes of music composition for the large and small screen.

APRA AMCOS and the AGSC congratulate all the nominees for 2019!

2019 Screen Music Awards Nominations List (in alphabetical order by Award)

Feature Film Score of the Year Danger Close: The Battle of Long Tan - Composer: Caitlin Yeo I Am Mother - Composers: Dan Luscombe and Antony Partos Jirga - Composer: AJ True Judy and Punch - Composer: François Tétaz

Best Music for a Documentary 2040 - Composer: Bryony Marks Australia’s Lost Impressionist - Composer: David Bridie The Cult of the Family - Composer: Amanda Brown The Leunig Fragments - Composer: Luke Altmann

Best Music for a Short Film Cernunnos - Composer: Rory Chenoweth For the Girl in the Coffee Shop - Composer: Angela Little Shiloh - Composer: Freya Berkhout Sohrab & Rustum - Composer: Burkhard Dallwitz

Best Soundtrack Album 2040 - Composer: Bryony Marks Little Monsters - Composer: Piers Burbrook de Vere Me and My Left Brain - Composer: Cezary Skubiszewski The Merger - Composer: David Bridie

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen Be My Girl from The Craft - Composer: Justin Shave Day by Day from Fourteen - Composer: Brontë Horder Every Day My Mother’s Voice from The Final Quarter - Composer: Paul Kelly Firesong from Judy and Punch - Composer: Sophia Brous, François Tétaz and Mirrah Foulkes

Best Music for Children’s Television Bill & Tony: Planet of the Socks - Composer: Michael Lira Bluey: Teasing - Composer: Joff Bush The Bureau of Magical Things: End of the Road - Composer: Brett Aplin The Pilgrims Progress - Composer: Michael Dooley

Best Television Theme Bloom - Composer: Antony Partos Dead Lucky - Composer: Michael Yezerski The Bureau of Magical Things - Composer: Brett Aplin The Pacific: In the Wake of Captain Cook with Sam Neill - Composer: Caitlin Yeo

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial Bloom: The Memory Box - Composer: Jackson Milas and Antony Partos Secret City: Run Little Rabbit - Composer: David Bridie Tidelands: Not One of You - Composer: Matteo Zingales You Can’t Ask That: Alcoholics - Composer: Andrew Sampford

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie Dead Lucky - Composer: Michael Yezerski Fighting Season - Composer: Daniel Denholm Lambs of God - Composer: Bryony Marks Ms Fisher’s Modern Murder Mysteries - Composer: Burkhard Dallwitz, Brett Aplin and Dmitri Golovko

Best Music for an Advertisement Dan Murphy’s - Composer: Adrian Sergovich HP Indigo - Composer: Dmitri Golovko Jewel Changi Airport - Composer: Gerard Fitzgerald Where Inspiration Lives: Sydney Opera House - Composer: Caitlin Yeo

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia* Composers: Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks Composer: Jay Stewart Composer: Mitch Stewart Composer: Neil Sutherland

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas* Composer: Alastair Ford Composer: Jed Kurzel Composer: Neil Sutherland Composer: Nerida Tyson-Chew

*Determined by statistical analysis

2019 SCREEN MUSIC AWARDS Date: Wednesday 20 November, 2019 Venue: Forum Melbourne, Victoria Hosted by: Justine Clarke Musical Director: Jessica Wells