Screen Music Awards

The annual Screen Music Awards are presented by APRA AMCOS in conjunction with the Australian Guild of Screen Composers (AGSC).  The ceremony acknowledges excellence and innovation in the field of screen composition. 


The 2019 Screen Music Awards were held in Melbourne on Wednesday 20th November at Forum Melbourne.  With musical director Jessica Wells once again holding the baton and Justine Clarke hosting it was a great night. 


Here are the nominees for the 2019 APRA-AGSC Screen Music Awards! (in alphabetical order by Award) with the winners in italics
Feature Film Score of the Year
Danger Close: The Battle of Long Tan - Composer: Caitlin Yeo
I Am Mother - Composers: Dan Luscombe and Antony Partos
Jirga - Composer: AJ True
Judy and Punch - Composer: François Tétaz
Best Music for a Documentary
2040 - Composer: Bryony Marks
Australia’s Lost Impressionist - Composer: David Bridie
The Cult of the Family - Composer: Amanda Brown
The Leunig Fragments - Composer: Luke Altmann
Best Music for a Short Film
Cernunnos - Composer: Rory Chenoweth
For the Girl in the Coffee Shop - Composer: Angela Little
Shiloh - Composer: Freya Berkhout
Sohrab & Rustum - Composer: Burkhard Dallwitz

Best Soundtrack Album
2040 - Composer: Bryony Marks
Little Monsters - Composer: Piers Burbrook de Vere
Me and My Left Brain - Composer: Cezary Skubiszewski
The Merger - Composer: David Bridie

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen
Be My Girl from The Craft - Composer: Justin Shave
Day by Day from Fourteen - Composer: Brontë Horder
Every Day My Mother’s Voice from The Final Quarter - Composer: Paul Kelly
Firesong from Judy and Punch - Composer: Sophia Brous, François Tétaz and Mirrah Foulkes
Best Music for Children’s Television
Bill & Tony: Planet of the Socks - Composer: Michael Lira
Bluey: Teasing - Composer: Joff Bush
The Bureau of Magical Things: End of the Road - Composer: Brett Aplin
The Pilgrims Progress - Composer: Michael Dooley
Best Television Theme
Bloom - Composer: Antony Partos
Dead Lucky - Composer: Michael Yezerski
The Bureau of Magical Things - Composer: Brett Aplin
The Pacific: In the Wake of Captain Cook with Sam Neill - Composer: Caitlin Yeo
Best Music for a Television Series or Serial
Bloom: The Memory Box - Composer: Jackson Milas and Antony Partos
Secret City: Run Little Rabbit - Composer: David Bridie
Tidelands: Not One of You - Composer: Matteo Zingales
You Can’t Ask That: Alcoholics - Composer: Andrew Sampford

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie
Dead Lucky - Composer: Michael Yezerski
Fighting Season - Composer: Daniel Denholm
Lambs of God - Composer: Bryony Marks
Ms Fisher’s Modern Murder Mysteries  - Composer: Burkhard Dallwitz, Brett Aplin and Dmitri Golovko
Best Music for an Advertisement
Dan Murphy’s - Composer: Adrian Sergovich
HP Indigo - Composer: Dmitri Golovko
Jewel Changi Airport - Composer: Gerard Fitzgerald
Where Inspiration Lives: Sydney Opera House - Composer: Caitlin Yeo
Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia*
Composers: Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks
Composer: Jay Stewart
Composer: Mitch Stewart
Composer: Neil Sutherland
Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas*
Composer: Alastair Ford
Composer: Jed Kurzel
Composer: Neil Sutherland
Composer: Nerida Tyson-Chew

*Determined by statistical analysis

AGSC Disclaimer

"The Information on this website is provided as general information only and on the understanding that the Australian Guild of Screen Composers (AGSC) is not providing professional advice of a legal, financial or otherwise nature to any user on the matters covered by this information. Whilst the AGSC makes every effort to keep the information on this site current, the information on this site is subject to change at any time and as different laws and legislation currently exist and operate between the States, Territories and Federal Government of Australia, the AGSC does not warrant or represent that the information on this site is free from errors or omissions.


Users of this site should also be aware that the information provided may be in the form of summaries and generalisations derived from other sources and may omit detail that could be significant to a particular scenario or context.  Users of this site should seek independent verification of any information on this site that they are seeking to rely on. The Guild can only provide general information and not advise you on specific points of your music contracts or on the law more broadly. Any questions relating to a contractual agreement beyond general ones should be directed to a qualified lawyer. For specific advice, the AGSC strongly recommends that: members seek information from the relevant Government authority, lawyer, tax professional or other industry professional.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube - White Circle